The Iconic Chapel on the Hill

I remember the first time I saw the chapel, from a distance in the middle of no where, on a road trip through Tuscany on my way to Pienza. I thought I had seen a mirage. I had to blink twice and rub my eyes. The view I saw had been photographed thousands of times yet it seemed like it could not possibly exist. An iconic picture found in almost every calendar or note card set about Italy that leaves you thinking there can be no place on earth that beautiful and yet here I was looking at it in real-time, in the flesh.

The Chapel of the Madonna di Vitaleta in Italy’s stunning Val d’ Orcia is one of the most photographed views in Tuscany. Built on a solitary hill against a sweeping panorama of agrarian fields and stands of cypress, the chapel once held a Renaissance statue of the Madonna sculpted by Andrea della Robbia in 1590. Recently classified as a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the Cappella della Madonna di Vitaleta is an indelible memory of my travels in Italy and a sight that will forever define the landscape of Tuscany.

Click here to see some amazing pictures of the Chapel of the Madonna di Vitaleta in San Quirico d’Orcia and Tuscany.

Leave a comment

Welcome to Cositutti

Our posts are an eclectic mix of insight and information that encourages you to experience the culinary and cultural traditions of regional Italian food, wine, art and design. Join our community of like minded epicurious travelers to see and savor Italy a little differently, outside the tourist flow to places most Italians enjoy when traveling in their own country. Top 30 Italy Lifestyle Blogs and Websites by Feedspot.

Discover the fatal charm of Italy!